NaNoWriMo – Week 1

NaNo tip of the week: If you want to win at NaNo, turn off your inner editor.
The goal of NaNo isn’t to have a great first draft, it’s to get in the habit of writing. So often people try to write, but it isn’t ‘good enough’ so they stop. All of these great stories are waiting to be told, but the person who has them is too scared of doing it wrong. NaNo forces you to write regardless of how good it is. It forces you to get the practice you need to improve. Don’t forget you have as much time as you want after November to edit these words. Right now the goal is to get past the fear of doing it wrong, so you have something to edit later. See my NaNoWriMo tips and tricks for more advice on how to succeed this month.

Don’t worry if you find yourself falling behind, now is the perfect time to get caught up! Check out my How to Catch up if you’re behind post from last year.

My Progress:
Word Graph one week of writingSo far, this year is going well. My plan was to write 2k each week day and 3.5k each weekend day. Saturday was rough, but in the end I made it with some extra words to spare. My biggest challenge right now is a lack of outline. I really need to get moving on the second section of my plot for this year’s novel. I’m almost at the end of what I had plotted out before November started. My writing tends to be faster if I have a decent idea of where I’m going.

Goal for this week:
Keep on track with my word count, and get the next 1/4-1/3 of the novel plotted out.

If you’re doing nano this year, how it is going? Do you have any great tips for new nano writers?

Leave a Reply

