October Sewing Update

I know this is primarily a reading/writing blog, but once a month I indulge my sewing side. You can find all my quilting/sewing updates here.

This month I didn’t get around to any quilting. My attention has been on NaNoWriMo prep instead. I did get a small project started and finished though!

Fabric Memory Game

I made a fabric memory game for a baby shower gift earlier this month. The entire project took me about 2.5 hours. I mostly followed this tutorial. My squares were 4 inches before sewing. I used 100% cotton flannel for the front and back, plus some random leftover batting I had on hand in the middle. This was a project I’d been wanting to make for a few years, but hadn’t had a good reason. When I found out a friend was expecting and the shower was only a few weeks away I decided it was the perfect time to try it out.

I’m very pleased with how they turned out. I wrapped them in a green ribbon and added them to the books (Good Night Gorilla and Snuggle Puppy) and hand knit hat I had on hand. The Mother to be was pleased with the gift, and I made sure a lifelong friend had some cute handmade items for their new baby.

Have you done any sewing or other crafting this month? What craft projects do you have on the go?

Leave a Reply

