Have you set up your Novel yet?

Bullet Journal in Moleskine CahierNational Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is just around the corner. I know it’s getting close because the NaNoWriMo site has been rolled over for 2016. That means you can now login and create your novel. This year the NaNo folks have made it very easy. When you login you should get a pop up which will take you directly to the screen to input your novel information. So go do that… right now! Yes, now. No time like the present and all that.

I’m slowly working my way through my usual pre NaNo prep. Some of what I like to accomplish before November 1st is listed in my get ready post from last year. The two things I have left to get ready are some meals, and my notebook.

Meals
The meals are harder than usual as my son is on a somewhat limited diet. Well not that limited, but tricky for putting things in the freezer. Luckily I’ve been doing NaNo for years and have managed to work my writing into the time after he is in bed, or on weekends when he is at the park with his Dad. I hope the schedule that has worked the last few years will work this year as well. If not I might really be missing those freezer meals.

Notebook
For my notebook this year I’m going all out. I’ll be making a fauxdori later this week to hold Moleskine Cahier large notebooks. I’ve had trouble in the past keeping my notebooks organized. I often have 2-3 notebooks/journals on the go at a time. Trying to keep track of them is difficult, and I hadn’t figured out a way to easily keep them together or combine them into a single notebook. The solution (I hope) is a fauxdori Travelers notebook cover. In November this will let me carry my Bullet Journal and NaNo notebook at the same time without one spilling into the other. Jumping right into the deep end feels like the perfect test for if I’ll use a fauxdori or not. I need a notebook system that can get me through a busy November without falling apart (or better yet one that stops me from falling apart!).

Have you signed up for NaNoWriMo yet? Are you feeling prepped or already feeling the pressure? How do you handle notes and ideas for your novels?

Leave a Reply

