Six Weeks to NaNoWriMo

Yes, you read that right, NaNoWriMo starts in only 6 weeks (plus a day). This year will be my 10th regular NaNo. I’m feeling motivated to win for the tenth time and have started planning and plotting to ensure it’s a good year.

This year I was struggling to find a NaNo plot. Usually I have an idea of what I’m going to write many months in advance. This year I was still without even a glimmer of an idea in August. At that point I decided I needed to get strategic to find my plot. It worked and finally I began to see my 10th NaNo take shape. My plot idea started with an abandoned space ship, a fight for the throne, a teenage photographer, and a memory storage device.

It is now a month later, and the plot has expanded to the point that I have the first third of the novel plotted. As a bonus I know how it is going to end.  The adventure in the middle is still a tangled mess of ideas and possibilities, but I have six weeks to whip it into shape.

Are you doing NaNo this year? Have you started preparing for a month of intense writing?

If you’re thinking of doing NaNo and don’t know where to begin I have a whole series of posts that might interest you. NaNoWriMo Series

Leave a Reply

