July Camp NaNoWriMo Final Wordcount

On Monday I’ll post a full tally for my July goals, but today I want to focus on how I did on Camp NaNoWriMo.

I surprised myself. I wasn’t too worried about finishing (my goal was just over 10k). The surprised was how many words I ended up writing in July. I finished my NaNo goal on July 30th with 30 words to spare. But that wasn’t my only project for the month. On the 16th I was hit with a sudden, all consuming, NEED to work on a fanfic I hadn’t thought about in over five years.

I was on track for NaNo, so I decided what the heck. With half my nano words written I only needed three regular nano days to finish. Nothing to worry about, so I started writing… and writing … and writing. Over five days I wrote 20k on the fanfic project! It was fun and carefree writing, which in my opinion is the most freeing. This isn’t a story I’m likely to share with anyone. It won’t go to my critique group, and I won’t share it with family or friends. It was a story I wrote for myself. That let me take the long road, and several detours. In the end I got when I needed to be, but the journey was wonderful and far from a straight line.

julyHere is my word chart for the month. The blue was my NaNo project. It actually has a fairly consistent writing pattern through the month. A few days a week I wrote between 500-1500 words. It looks how I expected knowing what the rest of my month was like. The red is the unexpected project that took over my writing for the middle of the month. One day I wrote over 6000 words. It is my first >6k day in over a year I think. Overall I’m very happy with how camp went, and even more pleased that I found pleasure in writing for the first time in a while.

Did you participate in camp? Did you meet your goal?

2 thoughts on “July Camp NaNoWriMo Final Wordcount

    • NJ Fraser August 4, 2016 / 10:58 pm

      Thanks! It is only my second camp success, so I’m feeling pretty proud.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

