First Camp Update – July 2016

My goal for Camp NaNoWrimo this month is 10,000 words. I wanted to keep it simple since it’s a busy month. I also haven’t been writing as much as I’d like the last few months.

The low goal seems to be working this time. Often when I set a low goal I end up faltering because I always think “I can catch up later”. The pressure just isn’t there when you know that if you really need to you can write 10k in two days. This month though I don’t want to do that. I’m not even sure I could manage two 5k days in a row right now. Instead I’m working hard to write 1k every second or third day

My writing so far this month has been:

  • 875 on July 3, putting me a 1/2 day behind.
  • 1,433 on July 4, to put me almost to day 7.
  • 992 on July 7, to put me almost to day 10.
  • 717, on July 10, to put me at day 12.

I haven’t been quite as consistent as I wanted, but even with the uneven spread of days I’ve been keeping up with the line. Right now I’m caught up to tomorrow, which is when I have my next critique meeting. It takes the pressure off until after the meeting when I’ll have more time to write again.

How is camp going for you? If you aren’t doing camp what other projects are you working on?

Leave a Reply

