Camp NaNoWriMo – July

I’ll post a goal update later this week, but today I want to talk about camp.

This year I did Camp NaNoWriMo in April with a goal of 15k, and for the first time I managed to win it. I’ve won at regular NaNo nine times, but camp was something that hadn’t worked for me in the past.

For the last few months I’ve been struggling with getting anything done. Stress has been high, motivated has been low, and I haven’t done anything worth while. I’ve barely sewn, I haven’t written, and I can’t seem to finish a book. When I heard it was Camp time again I decided to give it a go. I set the bar at 10k and am going back to world that I’ve only written a short story in before. This month is going to be a fun month of writing. I don’t have any expectations, the story line isn’t set in stone, and the characters are flexible.

I want to meet my goal of 10k, but more than that I want to find the joy in writing again. I am giving myself permission to write crap. I don’t care if my story has plot holes, characters that come and go without reason, and big inconsistencies. What I care about is getting practice writing words again.

I’ve written in the past about the pros and cons of doing NaNoWriMo. This month the pros definitely outweigh the cons for me. I want exactly what NaNo will give me: Butt in chair time and quantity not quality.

Are you doing camp this month? What do you hope to get from it?

Leave a Reply

