Submitting to a Critique Group

Over six months ago I started a small critique group with a friend. We started with four members, briefly went down to three, and are back up to four. Overall things have been going well, and I’ve learned a lot both from reading and submitting.

Submitting work to the group was hard the first month. It hasn’t gotten any easier. I think the part that I’m struggling with for submitting is how much I’m learning from each meeting, but I can’t manage to put any of it into practice. It’s great to know what I’m doing wrong, but frustrating that it isn’t getting any better.

It probably doesn’t help that I haven’t been writing much lately. I’ve managed a bit of sewing, but mostly at the end of my day I’m brain tired. I’m not physically tired, but I can’t think well enough to attempt something as thought provoking as writing. I also can’t exercise much because of a minor ankle injury. Overall I spent a lot more time than I should sitting on a couch watching TV and reading to my son.

With summer here my stress level might go down, but life continues. I still have to work, and I’ll have even less time to myself than I do during the school year. More sunlight, means more vitamin D, but it also means forcing sunscreen onto myself and the kid. It also means all the work keeping him reading falls to me.

Does the rest of your life often get in the way of your best writing intentions?

2 thoughts on “Submitting to a Critique Group

  1. categaragan June 29, 2016 / 10:24 am

    You’re right, it doesn’t get any easier. I learn so much from each meeting, and it’s a struggle to apply it. I’m trying, but it always feels like the further I come, the more I have left to learn.

    Like

    • NJ Fraser July 3, 2016 / 6:56 pm

      Maybe that is the bigger problem. The more you know about the problems and pitfalls, the more you see them in your own writing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

