What I’m Reading

Most of my reading lately has been either for, or to, my son. I’ve been reading him a lot of early reader Star Wars books, early chapter books, and listening to him read books with titles like “Harry and the Robot”. I love listening to him read and I enjoy reading to him, but even more I’ve been missing reading books to and for myself.

Last night I managed to break away for a few minutes at the library to find myself a few books. I didn’t bother trying to find recommendations, or even look for my favourite authors. I didn’t have time for that! But I did have time to glance through the shelves looking for any sci fi or fantasy titles covers that caught my attention.

Before I went to sleep last night I started reading “Mortal Engines” by Philip Reeve. It’s basic premise is that the we have destroyed the world and the people left are living in large steampunk style moving cities and towns. I’m only a few chapters in, but enjoying it so far. Hopefully it will kick off my reading for the rest of summer.

What are you reading these days?

3 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

  1. Katherine Jay June 23, 2016 / 2:59 pm

    I am reading one of the Hugo nominated novels and growling at it repeatedly.

    Thankfully I’m also reading a wonderful New Adult F/F romance that’s making me ridiculously gleeful, so at least there’s that 🙂

    (Out on Good Behavious, by Dahlia Adler, if you’re curious.)

    Like

    • NJ Fraser June 27, 2016 / 11:51 am

      I need to start thinking about what I want to read next. I do much better when I have a string of books waiting to be read. Mind you I don’t want a big pile of them like you and Cate always have 😉

      Like

      • Katherine Jay June 29, 2016 / 11:06 am

        I’d like to say we’re not that bad…but we’re totally that bad 🙂 Always having a bunch of books waiting to be read does make it easier to keep reading, though!

        Like

Leave a Reply

