Summer is Coming

I’m sure for many of you summer has already arrived. Summer, where I live, is only two months. We are just starting to see some warm weather now. Summer hasn’t truly arrived yet, but we are getting warm days between the rainy ones.

With the nice weather arriving, I’ve been thinking about what I want to accomplish this summer. My schedule is about to change again as my son goes from school to summer mornings spent with my mother (afternoons with me). He and I have plans to focus on reading this summer. Nothing too crazy, just 30 minutes a day split between writing, spelling, and reading.

I’ve been using the PM readers lately and really like them. My son already has a grasp on phonics, but with so many words not following the predicted pattern, he struggles. With the PM readers I’m able to look ahead to the next level and start his spelling practice with the words he is going to see. He is enjoying reading again, he is focused on reading, and he is improving at a rate I didn’t dare hope for.

With his focus on reading, I’m even more motivated to write. I am going to split my time this summer on my MG Sci Fi novel and the Murder Mystery. One of the members of my critique group requested I submit something from the Murder Mystery as she knows the basic premise, but hasn’t read anything from the draft yet. The MG I’m going to work on, so I can continue reading it to my son who thinks I’m the best writer on the planet. I could use some of that praise right now.

What are you planning to read or write this summer? Will your schedule change with school out for the summer?

3 thoughts on “Summer is Coming

  1. Katherine Jay June 21, 2016 / 9:09 am

    Summer is my least productive writing time! Between big trips, visiting family, and important sports watching, it’s really hard for me to get down to writing. It’s also the time when I have a big fanfic project I write for, so that’s going to be my whole focus. Getting words down on that in whatever moments I can steal.

    Like

    • NJ Fraser June 24, 2016 / 7:29 am

      I hope to get more writing done over the summer. In theory I should have less kid related stress!

      Like

      • Vicky May 15, 2017 / 7:20 pm

        Sometimes it helps to just start writing. Ideas may come out randomly and some may not fit, but once you have something down on paper it’s easier to assemble them into a coherent sturtcrue..-= Brad Shorr´s last blog ..How To Get More Blog Subscribers =-.

        Like

Leave a Reply

