June Quilting Update

I know this is primarily a reading/writing blog, but once a month I indulge my sewing side. You can find all my quilting/sewing updates here.

The Digger Quilt
I finished my first quilt! I still can’t believe I designed and made it myself.Finished digger quiltLast month I set myself the goal of finishing the digger quilt for my son. I had been putting it off for far too long. I did it! The quilt is labelled, bound, and beautiful. He snuggles with it pretty much whenever he watches TV. quilt binding and backingWhen I gave it to him I got a lovely song about how “Mommy is the best”, so I’m confident he likes it.

I didn’t have anything specific picked out for the backing, so I took my son with me to the fabric store. He found the Star Wars fabric and couldn’t be torn away. In the end we picked a 100% cotton flannel Star Wars print. I  like it a lot more than I thought I would. With a simple repeated pattern it was easy to seam (the seam is almost invisible), and it quilted beautifully. I didn’t manage to snag the back at all. My husband’s quilt is only half quilted and it already has two small snags on the back. I do wish I’d made the binding strips smaller. I went with a 2 1/4 inch width, but would have been fine with 2 inches.

The ShooGree shoo fly quilt Fly Quilt
I haven’t done any sewing on this one this month, but I’ve made progress.

This quilt will have 21 blocks, each made from a different fabric. Last week I decided on the final layout of the blocks. You can see the layout (and fabrics) in the blurry picture to the right. I always take a picture, so I have a reference when I start the final piecing of the top.

I also found time over the weekend to cut the spacing strips. They are in the white fabric and will go in all those places you can see the floor.

Star Quilt
My goal for June is to get two nights of quilting in on my husband’s star quilt. At my best guess it will take me 2-3 nights to finish the quilting. I would love to be onto the binding before the end of the month, but I haven’t even done the first night of quilting yet.

What have you been working on this month? Do you already have your next project planned out (I do!)?

Leave a Reply

