Finding my Priorities – again

In the past I have had many hobbies. The most recent being writing, quilting, other sewing, cross stitching, running, hula hooping, and knitting. Earlier this year I decided I needed to figure out my priorities (aside from my family which will always be a top priority). I decided that the most important to me were being active, writing, and quilting. I knew I didn’t have time to do everything I wanted to do, so I had to make some changes if I wanted to be able to focus on anything.

During the month of May my focus shifted almost 100% to quilting. More on that will follow in my May goal update, and June sewing update. The unfortunate side effect of that focus is almost no writing got done. In short, I lost my balance. I tipped too far in the direction of quilting to be happy with how much writing I got done. I don’t regret it, and in some ways it had to happen, but it’s something I need to be careful of in the future. I need to remember that if I want to have more than one hobby I need to make time for more than one hobby.

For June I’m going to try and stick to a weekly schedule again. I haven’t written it up yet, but it will have two nights of writing, one night of sewing, some family time, and hopefully I can figure out a way to get in two workouts a week. With the weather slowly turning to summer I should be able to get the family out for a few bike rides, and the husband and I have been talking about how I could fit in running again if that is what I’m looking for.

How do you find time for everything? Do you have a schedule that you follow, or do you do what you feel like as the mood hits?

5 thoughts on “Finding my Priorities – again

  1. categaragan May 30, 2016 / 8:35 am

    I tend to binge on sewing/quilting. Other hobbies I find I do much better with if I create a regular habit. It doesn’t have to be a schedule, but it does need to be a conscious effort to tackle it every day (or at least close to that).

    Like

    • NJ Fraser May 30, 2016 / 3:53 pm

      I seem to binge on sewing as well. I don’t think I can write everyday. I don’t have that much time. I wish I did though!

      Like

  2. Melanie McNeil May 30, 2016 / 11:17 pm

    I’m not sure you can balance the non-family priorities “evenly” all the time, unless you make a schedule and stick to it. But I know I wouldn’t be happy with the schedule. My priorities are like yours — physical (food prep and physical activity), writing, and quilting. What gets my time varies depending on time available, energy, and inspiration. Over all, I get pretty good balance with it. And yes, understanding your priorities allows you to choose how you spend your resources, which allows you to max your power. Go you!

    Like

    • NJ Fraser May 31, 2016 / 8:11 am

      I don’t tend to balance it well. I fall into a habit of spending all my time on one hobby while ignoring the others. I don’t have a lot of ‘me’ time and I feel that maybe if I can schedule some of that time (not all), then I will get more out of it. I guess we’ll see over the month of June if I’m someone who can stick to a schedule or not. I’m glad you manage to balance your creative time without too much fuss.

      Like

      • Melanie McNeil May 31, 2016 / 8:18 am

        Most important is that you find what works for you. Good luck with June!

        Like

Leave a Reply

