Clearing the Way

For the last two weeks I haven’t had much time to write. I promised my son I would finish his digger quilt this month, and I’ve made amazing progress on it, but that has meant sacrificing my writing time. If I don’t start writing more I’m not going to make my goal of writing eight times this month.

Writing more sounds great, but I also have the small problem of where to write. Currently I write on the couch, or the dinning room table. That can mean a lot of distractions from what I should be working on. I recently ordered a new Skarsta desk from Ikea to use in the room that used to be our ‘study’. Since my son was born, the ‘study’ has turned into a ‘I don’t know what to do with this thing’ storage space. It’s cluttered and full of stuff that doesn’t need to be there. Stuff that may not need to be in the house at all. Not idea for a space that needs to function as a sewing space, writing space, and relaxing space. A tall order!

Now that my desk has arrived I need to clear enough space to set it up. Nothing like a deadline to force you along a path. I plan to have the new desk set up before the end of the weekend. That means getting enough stuff out of the study to have enough room not only for the desk, but for me to be able to use the desk. I both look forward to and dread the amount of work that will be involved in such a simple task. Luckily my husband made some good progress on the room about a month ago before bringing company into the house.

Do you have a dedicated writing space? How do you make space for your hobbies? Does your writing space double as space for anything else?

Leave a Reply

