May Quilting Update

I know this is primarily a reading/writing blog, but I’ve decided that once a month I’m going to indulge my sewing side. In the middle of each month I’ll post an update on how my quilting/sewing is going. You can find the April Update here.

I’ve worked on three sewing projects this month. Below is an update on each.

Curtains
I hemmed my living room curtains! This is big news. We put the curtains up in 2006. I pinned them to the proper height, so they wouldn’t be all over the rad. This month I FINALLY hemmed them. It took me all of thirty minutes, I wish I had done it years ago.

Shoo Fly Quilt
My Shoo fly quilt now has all 21 blocks completed. My hope is that next month I’ll have a picture of the final layout to share with you. I always take a picture so I can use it as reference as I piece together a top.

The Digger Quilt
I set a goal of finishing this quilt (100%, nothing left to do) by the end of the month. At the beginning of the month I had a finished top, but that was it. I have since pinned it together, and, over two nights, I’ve quilted almost three quarters of it. You can see my progress in the, slightly fuzzy, picture below.
IMG_0245I am very happy with how it is turning out so far. I have only machine quilted half a quilt before this, so the skill is very new and still developing. My son, when he saw the first third of quilting, was very pleased. Once I have the quilting done, it will be time to buy the binding fabric and bind my first quilt.

Do you sew? Have you made big progress on any projects recently?

Leave a Reply

