The Books that Shaped Me

I wasn’t a reader as a kid. In fact I really struggled learning to read. I hated it because it was hard. It didn’t help that I was behind due to being in another province for several months of my primary year. I spent years being the kid who had to work with the resource teacher a few times a week.

It wasn’t until early university that I discovered a love of reading for fun. I’m very sure it wasn’t a matter of not being exposed to books before that. My father, in particular, was a lover of books. He read fiction, non-fiction, magazines, books, and newspapers. It wasn’t lack of exposure. I watched my Dad read regularly, I knew my Mom read before bed, and I was taken to the library frequently. My parents read to me before bed, and at other times.

I started reading a little bit in Jr. High and High School of my own free will. In Jr. High I started reading all the Nancy Drew books in my school library, but that had more to do with it being something to do that made me look busy over lunch than anything else. In high school I decided to read my way through all the books my parents and others had bought me over the years that I hadn’t been interested in. Books like the entire Narnia series, A few Hardy Boys, The Zucchini Warriors, and Twin Spell. I know there were others, but those are the ones that stand out for me.

The two books that really made me a reader though were Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, and Bitten By Kelley Armstrong. Harry Potter was fun, fast, and light. Bitten was adult urban fantasy. Both made me want to read MORE. It also didn’t hurt that I start dating my husband in early University and he reads at least a hundred books a year. He also loved to introduce me to new authors and genres. Without him, Harry Potter, and Bitten I might not be a reader at all.

Do you read for fun? What first made you want to read all the time?

5 thoughts on “The Books that Shaped Me

    • NJ Fraser May 16, 2016 / 7:53 am

      Thank you! I love to hear about how other people found their hobbies, or about what helped them become the people they are. I figured why not share part of my story.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Katherine Jay May 13, 2016 / 1:57 pm

    I had no idea you didn’t start reading for fun until uni! You loving books is one of those *things* that is just…NIc is a reader 🙂

    I can’t remember not reading for fun. I can remember refusing to let Mum teach me to read, but then I got to school and came home with my first reading book and that was it. Books had me hooked. Dad always read to me before bed, even after I learned to read, and I think that’s why I always associated reading with fun. He read me the Hobbit when I was five (probably around the time I learned to read, thinking on it), but that was just one in a long line of books. That’s the one that stands out, though, because it feels significant. It was the book that took me into imaginary worlds I actually wanted to see. All the Blytons and Nancy Drews were fun, but I wouldn’t want to be in them. Middle Earth was the first fantasy that I wanted to visit.

    Like

    • NJ Fraser May 16, 2016 / 7:56 am

      My Dad read me the hobbit when I was eight, and I loved it. I have always enjoyed being read to, but reading to myself was hard work. Also the stories at my reading level were often BORING since I was behind.

      I think the big change for me was getting all the reading practice in Jr. High and High School. Once reading was a bit faster, it got to be a lot more fun. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

