Happiness

It has been a long few weeks. I’ve spent a lot of time feeling lost, guilty, and often overwhelmed. Today I’m determined not to focus on those things. Today I’m going to focus on the good things in my life. So here are five things that make me happy.

1) The kid helped fold the sheets
I am home today for Easter Monday because the kid doesn’t have school. Someone has to look after him and neither my husband or I get the day off. We force the kid to help out at home. Nothing too big, but so far today he has cleared his dishes from the table after each meal/snack, unloaded the cutlery tray on the dishwasher, matched socks, and helped to fold the flat sheets. The part that makes me happy? He did each task with only one reminder, and zero complaining. In our house that practically makes today magical.

2.) I am making quick progress on my quilt top
I’ve left the ironing board set up in the dinning room as a small staging area for quilting. Over the last few days I’ve squared up, ironed, sewn, and pinned pieces as time permits. It has been amazing how much progress I’ve made in tiny 5-15 minute intervals. I have 1/3 of the quilt blocks finished, and another 1/3 ready for the first of two passes through the sewing machine. Things will slow down now that my long weekend is almost over, but I’m very happy with my progress.

3.) A long weekend with family
The kid, the husband, and I had three days together this weekend. This month the husband and I have spent so much time trading off that we haven’t had much quality time as a family. It was nice to do simple things like eat breakfast or dinner together, or even spend an hour watching TV together.

4.) I made time to write this month
With all the craziness, I still found time to write this month. I will be writing tonight and again on Thursday. That puts me well above my goal of writing (or working on writing) two nights each week.

5.) I’m on my 5th load of laundry today…
and I haven’t gotten distracted! The first three loads are hanging to dry or put away. The last two loads are in the dryer and I have a time set to remind me when I need to go and fish them out. The only dirty clothes left in this house are my husbands socks, which he can wash himself if he so desires tonight. I even have clean towels in the bathroom, and clean sheets on the beds. I can’t remember the last time I was so caught up on the laundry.

What are makes you happy today?

2 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. Juni Desireé March 29, 2016 / 1:34 am

    I love lists like these. Just simply having time to write makes me happy today.

    Like

    • NJ Fraser March 29, 2016 / 9:40 am

      I’m glad you found something to make you happy today. Often it is the little things that do it if we can remember to look for them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

