Unexpected Consequences

I don’t often have reason to keep secrets. It isn’t that I can’t keep a secret, I can , but when it is something I am bubbling to share or talk about, it gets hard. This time it is also a secret I’m keeping from an unexpected group.

I started a new writing project a few weeks ago. It isn’t anything special, but because it is being sent to my critique group so quickly I decided to keep it a secret. Before now, I hadn’t considered what having my sounding boards be part of a larger critique group would mean. In this case I have a brand new story idea I am itching to share and hash out with the usual suspects of my writing group. Since I am submitting it so quickly to the critique group though I’m in a position of being able to get an opinion untainted by any previous knowledge.

It turns out there are unexpected consequences of having these two writing groups overlap. It has brought out questions I wasn’t expecting. Am I always going to want a completely fresh opinion on my work? Will I only care about having fresh opinions when it’s a brand new idea? Are there benefits to having people who know some of the background before diving into the work, while others know nothing?

In this case, no one knows anything. I’ve kept the genre, age, and type of story to myself. I haven’t told anyone about the characters, plot, or expected story arc. They are all going in blind. I guess I’ll be able to start answering some of those questions after the April meeting of the critique group.

Do you have a writing or a critique group? How do you deal with the overlap if there is any?

Leave a Reply

