Camp NaNoWriMo Approaches

April is the first round of Camp NaNoWriMo for 2016. I am a long time participant in NaNo during November. This year will be my tenth year (and hopefully my tenth win). I have thought about doing Camp NaNo a few times. I even signed up last year with the intent of doing a smaller goal (around 15k I think). I didn’t get much further than signing up though. As so often happens life got in the way.

I think the main problem last year was I wanted to continue a story I’d already started. It’s a story I care about, one I’ve been chipping away at for a few years. As it turns out, I can’t write at a NaNo pace on something I care about. Not even a much smaller/slower NaNo pace. I should have realized I was going to struggle since the story I chose was one I’d been writing at a slower pace since the first few scenes.

This year I’m considering signing up for Camp NaNo in April. I have a brand new Mystery Project I’m working on and I’m not sure where it’s going. If I work on it through March, then I can continue to work on it through April. This might be especially useful as I only have the very beginning plotted out. I do well on NaNo when I don’t really know where a story is going. Sometimes I don’t even know where I want it to end. This time I have a few things I’ve figured out about the ending, but it has a lot of wiggle room. I don’t have much invested in this story, and will likely have even less once April hits and my critique group takes a run at it.

Maybe committing to work on it through April will force me to keep going even when the critique group pans it. Maybe I just need to commit to a piece of writing for a while to get over this hump. Maybe the ‘quantity not quality’ side of NaNo is exactly the kind of freedom I need right now. Maybe my eventually having a successful Camp NaNo is inevitable.

Do you plan to do either of the Camp NaNo’s this year? Have you finished Camp NaNo in the past?

6 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Approaches

  1. Katherine Jay March 7, 2016 / 2:08 pm

    I’ve done Camp NaNo a couple of times. I’m vaguely thinking about doing it again–with way less than 50k as my goal–but it depends a lot on where my current projects are later in the month.

    Like

    • NJ Fraser March 7, 2016 / 6:21 pm

      If I do it, I will likely set a goal around the 15-20k mark. Something challenging but not out of this world for my current commitments.

      Like

      • Katherine Jay March 7, 2016 / 6:29 pm

        That’s a good goal – around what I was thinking of if I do it.

        Like

  2. Rachel March 8, 2016 / 7:47 am

    I’ll be participating this year just like the many years before. I’m going to try something different, though. I’ll be working on a fairy-tale retelling. We’ll see how it goes. Good luck!

    Like

    • NJ Fraser March 8, 2016 / 8:58 am

      I love re-imagined fairy-tales. Sounds like a great project for NaNo. I think I am going to take the Camp NaNoWriMo plunge this year. I hope it goes well, for both of us!

      Like

      • Rachel March 8, 2016 / 12:45 pm

        Thank you! Good luck to you! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

