Finding the Time and Motivation to Write

For me, it is much easier to keep a pattern once it is established, than to start a new pattern. A perfect example is my recent sewing. Earlier this month I hooked up my sewing machine for the first time in months. Over the course of the day I quilted half of a large lap quilt. That night I packed up my sewing machine so we could eat on the dinning room table the next day.

On Sunday I remembered that I still hadn’t sewn a bag for a small toy set my son has. I pulled out the sewing machine and made a zippered pouch to keep his set together. I started and finished a project I had been putting off for months in a few hours, and that was with some ‘help’ from my son. I have no doubt that if I hadn’t been sewing on Friday I wouldn’t have end up sewing on Sunday. I had started a pattern and it was easy to continue it. (Since then I have also completed a small project for my husband)

What does this have to do with writing? Well, I have been having trouble finding the time to write for about a month. However, after thinking about my recent sewing I am starting to think the problem isn’t finding the time to write, but finding the time to start writing. For the next month I am not going to think about how I am going to fit in writing each and every day or even three times a week. Instead I am going to think about when I can write next. I’m going to take it one step at a time as they say.

How often do you write? Do you find it easy to find the time, or is it something your struggle with regularly?

5 thoughts on “Finding the Time and Motivation to Write

  1. Arthur Macabe February 29, 2016 / 11:42 am

    NJ–

    I’ve recently tackled the “lack of time for writing” in recent posts. I try to write about ways to help other writers in my posts. Might not work for everyone but they work for me.

    I write in small chunks of time daily. Two sentences waiting in an elevator in Evernote. A paragraph while in line at the coffee shop. Had any similar luck?

    https://amacabe.wordpress.com

    Like

    • NJ Fraser February 29, 2016 / 12:34 pm

      I have tried writing in little bursts like that. It doesn’t work well for me. I write long fiction 90% of the time and it takes so long to find my place each time that it isn’t worth it. But I do like making short notes in my notebook about plot, characters, and other bits of inspiration. I haven’t been doing that as much lately, so thank you for the reminder. Those little pieces make it easier to get started when I do have time to sit down and write.

      Thanks for the comment and good luck with your writing 🙂

      Like

  2. Katherine Jay March 2, 2016 / 4:18 pm

    I always feel bad when I talk about having daily writing commitments and so on, but I think the reason I can be productive is because of them. I can take a day or two off with no problems, but if I start taking a week or two off then it’s easy for me to lose all forward momentum and just stop. After that, it takes a lot of work to get started.

    It’s about learning your own process, I think. Some people can write in massive bursts with big gaps in between. A lot of people don’t suit that – they need the regular schedule in order to keep moving.

    Finding the time isn’t always easy. I try to get some time in at lunch time most days. I block off an hour or two every night, which gets difficult when everyone else wants your time and you can’t give it. Sometimes I resort to bribing myself with treats if I get a certain amount accomplished 🙂 And I have a nice motivating spreadsheet with cells that change colour depending on the word count I report, and that keeps me accountable!

    Like

    • NJ Fraser March 3, 2016 / 10:53 am

      I also run into the problem of trying to do all the things I want to do. I only have so much me time and in that time I need to fit in: some decompressing, sewing, writing, and the house work. I guess I just have to keep trying different schedules until I find something that works for me 🙂

      Like

      • Katherine Jay March 3, 2016 / 4:22 pm

        Kameron Hurley has several interesting blog posts on her site about learning to hack her writing process – trying different things out to find the way that works for her. You might find her thoughts interesting: http://www.kameronhurley.com/blog/

        Like

Leave a Reply

