Book Recs – Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready

Book: Shade
By: Jeri Smith-Ready
Genre: Fantasy
Audience: YA

What it’s about: Aura’s boyfriend, Logan, dies after playing a gig with his band. The twist? Aura can still see and hear him. Aura, like everyone born after the Shift, can see and talk to ghosts.

Why I read it, and why you should too: I picked it up because it was a recommended read on Amazon when I was on a big YA kick a few years ago. I kept reading it because of the world building. The how and why of the shift kept my interest from the first few pages. The idea that an entire generation can see and talk to ghosts fascinated me. Plus I read a lot of books with love triangles around that time and the fact one of the boys in this one was a ghost made it far more interesting.

All three books in the trilogy are quick, fun reads. I particularly love that while everything is tied up at the end of book three it isn’t one of those endings that is so perfect it makes your head spin. It was a wonderfully realistic happy ending even for a fantasy book. It felt like the kind of happy ending you could expect in real life, not just in a fairy tale.

What books have you read lately? Do you enjoy a  good love triangle or do you think they are overdone?

2 thoughts on “Book Recs – Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready

  1. Katherine Jay January 28, 2016 / 9:54 am

    I’ve become a little tired of love triangles in YA, but if someone can put a new spin on them, then I won’t throw the book away. This one sounds interesting!

    Like

    • NJ Fraser January 28, 2016 / 10:09 am

      I found this book to be a quick read, and was more interested in the concept/world than the love triangle. I remember the love triangle being toned down significantly by the last book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

