2015 in Review

I started my blog at the beginning of February, so this post covers 11 months of blogging. I posted fairly regularly for the first few months, took a break over the summer, and started blogging regularly in the fall. Here are a few stats, and a short list of my favourite posts from this year.

Total number of blog posts: 45

Top five posts by views:

  1. First is a tie between Sharing my Writing and
  2. Writing Process: The Dream vs the Truth.
  3. We have another tie, this time between Camp NaNoWriMo and
  4. NaNoWriMo: How to catch up if you’re behind.
  5. Thinking outside the box.

A Countdown of my Five Favourite Posts:

5.) NaNoWriMo: How to Get Ready: I have done NaNoWriMo so many times I don’t give much thought to it anymore. It was nice to go think about my first NaNo when I still had to sign up for the site etc.

4.) Talent vs. Desire: I am often reminded that although my talent lies with numbers my heart lies with words.

3.) Getting Creative: My son and I took a stuffie making course at a local quilting shop. He reminded me that it is possible to be creative without fear. More specifically that it is possible to fix mistakes, and we shouldn’t stop ourselves from trying new things for fear of failure.

2.) 500 Words – Mage of Water: My first 500 words post. It was a lot harder to hit publish on this post than any of my others. I am 99% sure I am going to continue this story. The world is clear in my mind as is the character. I just haven’t figure out where the story arc is going yet.

1.) Sharing my writing: This was the most personal thing I posted all year. I’m glad I wrote it down so I can refer back to it often when I get nervous about sharing my writing with others. Sharing can be scary, but it is well worth it and rarely regretted.

Visitors from around the world. I had visitors from Canada (my home country, so not a big surprise), the US, France, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom.

Highest Activity Month
March was by far the most active month on my blog with almost double the number of views than the next highest month. Of course this might have something to do with the two posts with the most views being posted in March.

What was your favourite post this year, on your own blog or someone else’s blog? Do you track the views on your blog?

3 thoughts on “2015 in Review

  1. Katherine Jay January 1, 2016 / 2:17 pm

    I try to keep an eye vaguely on what’s happening on the blog. I know that I had two ridiculously popular (by my standards) posts, and they were both about issues within SFF fandom. The tweets linking to them got retweeted a lot, which probably explains it. I suspect that if the Hugos season is problematic again and I end up blogging about it (I didn’t have this blog for last year’s), I’ll get more traffic.

    My favourite post on my own blog was the one I did on conventions and accessibility. It’s a subject that I care about a great deal, so it was gratifying to see it get a fair bit of attention.

    I’m trying to think which posts on other blogs really grabbed me – probably Mary Robinette Kowal’s post about convention accessibility, which is what triggered mine.

    Like

    • NJ Fraser January 1, 2016 / 3:00 pm

      I read your accessibility post. It was well thought out. I can see why it was your favourite.

      Like

      • Katherine Jay January 1, 2016 / 5:26 pm

        Thank you! I didn’t plan to write something so personal when I started it, so it’s a bit of a miracle that it came out that coherently.

        Like

Leave a Reply

