Changes to the Blog

As you may have already noticed, I am trying something a little different with my blog. Instead of writing on a weekly schedule, I have switched to a monthly one. This means I’ll be posting a little more often (every three days, instead of twice week). My hope is the new schedule will give me a bit more structure, while still allowing me to post on any topic that catches my fancy. I am aiming to balance out my need for prompts with the desire for flexibility. Below you’ll find a few notes on some of the new post types.

500 Words
I recently took a writing course, and while the course itself was too basic the assignments gave me a lot to think about. Each assignment was 500 words. It was an interesting exercise and one I found I enjoyed. Twice a month I will post 500 word stories or story segments. They might be complete tales, or I might continue one story for several months. At this point I will let the ideas take me where they want to go.

Goals/Updates
I’ve posted my monthly goals twice now. I like the accountability of it. I guess you could say this one is my guilty pleasure. I admit I’m posting them for me, so I have a record of how things are going for my writing.

Recommendations
For a short time I thought about doing book reviews, but then I realized I only wanted to share the stuff I really loved. I’m also not necessarily looking to pick books apart. So instead of reviews it will be recommendations. Mostly I’ll be talking about YA books, but I’m sure other book types, movies, and TV shows will sneak in.

Do you plan out your blog posts? Or are you a post whatever/whenever kind of person?

2 thoughts on “Changes to the Blog

  1. Katherine Jay December 11, 2015 / 8:25 am

    I try to plan a few things, to give structure, but so far the only things that have really stuck are the weekly Wednesday reading posts and the Doctor Who reviews.

    Maybe one of my goals for next year should be to find a structure that really works for me. I love the ideas you’ve got – 500 words should be interesting, and I’m intrigued to see what books grab you enough to recommend!

    Like

  2. NJ Fraser December 11, 2015 / 8:51 am

    I am excited to see where the 500 words takes me as well! Sharing even small pieces of what I am writing is a big step in the right direction.

    I have promised myself I will stick to this schedule for the next two months. After that I might switch it up again. I think finding what works is going to take some trial and error. I hope we both figure out what works for us in the new year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

