‘Read what makes you look good’

I read a quote today that was something along the lines of “Read what makes you look good.” It seemed innocent enough the first time I read it. Then I saw it again and it got me thinking. What books would make a person look good? Are they saying I should read the classics? Literature? Non-fiction about complicated subjects? A book about fashion and makeup? How does a book make me look ‘good’?

I read what makes me happy. I read the books I can’t stand to put down because I don’t want to lose the connection I have formed to the world inside those pages. I read because I want to escape my life and live someone else’s for awhile. I have a friend who loves to read things that make her cry.

These days I read mostly young adult with a bit of adult and middle grade thrown in to round things out. I love fantasy, enjoy romance, and sometimes need a good mystery. When dystopian was a big thing, I read a bunch of it. I have read all of the Harry Potter books. One of my favourite books of all time is Pride and Prejudice. My husband enjoys science fiction, historical books, and almost anything in between.

Nothing I read is going to make me look ‘good’ or ‘intelligent’ or ‘deep’. Ninety nine percent of what I read is genre fiction. A lot of it is very good genre fiction, but it isn’t pretending to be literary or a classic. I read the books I do because I enjoy them and they make me happy. Why would I give that up for something that makes me look ‘good’.

Why do you read what you read? Would you read a book just because you thought it made you look ‘good’?

2 thoughts on “‘Read what makes you look good’

  1. Katherine Jay November 5, 2015 / 9:54 am

    I read what I read because I enjoy it. Mostly genre – SFF and a bit of romance, with the odd mystery thrown in – and I gave up reading something to make me look good a very long time ago. It seems pointless, and the only result I can imagine is reading a lot of books you aren’t that interested in.

    I know there are people who read what makes them look good, but I can never figure out why they’d do it. The people who are impressed wouldn’t actually be people I’d want to impress!

    Like

    • NJ Fraser November 6, 2015 / 9:59 am

      I agree life is too short to limit yourself to the books you should like instead of the ones you DO like.

      Like

Leave a Reply

