Work Life Balance

Finding the right balance between work, family, and personal life is hard work. In my experience it is also constantly evolving. What worked last decade, year, or even month may not work right now. In the last year what I need from my work life balance has changed. I know I need to work to have money for food, shelter, and personal expenses. I also know I need to support my family and myself with time, attention, and activities.

Sometimes we don’t have as much choice as we would like because of money or time constraints. I am lucky enough to be in a position to make some changes. In January my position will be switching to a 70% position to allow me to support my family. It will mean a little less money, but it will also mean a lot less stress and a lot more time for those who need it. It will also mean a few hours a week of ‘me’ time.

Some of that ‘me’ time will have to be dedicated to the boring, must do, stuff. Things like getting the dishwasher unloaded and a few loads of laundry done. The rest of that time can go to my writing. An hour is enough time to sit at a laptop and get some words down or get scene edited. The change in my position will not only give me the opportunity to support my family, it will also give me the time to pursue my own hobbies. My work, personal, and family life will once again be in good balance.

Getting the right balance between work and the rest of our lives is hard work. The benefits are worth it when we mange to find that perfect balance. Do you have a good work life balance? Are you in a position to change your work life balance?

2 thoughts on “Work Life Balance

  1. Katherine Jay October 15, 2015 / 12:39 pm

    Despite all the times when my time off gets rearranged and my weekends end up involving work, for the most part, I feel like I’ve got the balance right. My situation is very different from yours–no child care responsibilities, for a start–and it’s taken me time to get this balance right, but I feel like I’m there at the moment.

    Which probably means that something drastic will happen soon, like my back going wonkier than ever or my work arrangement changing, but I’ll let the future take care of itself and enjoy the now 🙂

    Like

    • NJ Fraser October 15, 2015 / 7:04 pm

      I think the balance is always changing. Our responsibilities (both personal and work) change. Our interests and hobbies might change. All of that makes for a need to change the balance. I’m glad you have a system that works for you. I hope it continues to do so for as long as you need it to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

