Happy Thanksgiving

For the first time in several years we had a very traditional thanksgiving. My mother made a turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potato with pecans, carrots, parsnips, broccoli, and gravy. For dessert we had my husband’s chocolate tart. It was delicious. I had forgotten how a traditional meal could bring family together.

I had big plans for this three day weekend. There were so many things I wanted to get done. Time, as it does these days, got away from me. Don’t get me wrong, I got a lot done. My son had a playdate, we had thanksgiving dinner, we ran errands, we made it out to a park, my husband and I watched a movie, and I have done four loads of laundry. What I haven’t managed to do is find time for any of my hobbies. I didn’t do any writing, I didn’t get any sewing done, and I have only read about 30 pages of my book.

It feels like a waste to have had three days without work and not to have used any of them for creative pursuits. I haven’t lost all hope. There is still time tonight to do something creative. To either pull out my laptop and write some words, or grab my rotary cutter and cut into some fabric. Hopefully I will take advantage this evening and do something for myself.

For those who celebrate Thanksgiving now, I hope you had a great one. Even without having written any words I enjoyed the time I spent with my family and friends. Tonight I will enjoy turkey leftovers and hopefully some creative time.

Leave a Reply

