The Best Laid Plans

I am a planner. I like to set goals, draw up timelines, and make to do lists. I like order, numbers, and facts. Sometimes I also like to dream big.

When it comes to writing I have two goal lists. One is my to the moon and back list. It is the kind of list that includes ‘become a New York Times Bestselling author’ on it. The other is the list of things I am actually working toward. It has things like ‘publish a novel’ on it. For the most part to get to the to the moon and back list I need to go through the other list first. It’s hard to believe how much work lies ahead to achieve even a few of the things on that little piece of paper.

My timeline from now to the middle of next year is fairly simple. I want to work on the MG Sci-Fi until Jan. Then I will switch over to the YA Portal Fantasy. In November I will take a break for at least two weeks to get my butt through a 50k rough draft for NaNoWriMo. I only have the thinnest threads of a story for NaNo this year. I love NaNo for the ability to let loose, play with new ideas, and not feel constrained. Once that 50k is done though I need to buckle down for the MG Sci-Fi again.

Lastly my to do list. It is simple. Only one line. Stick to the timeline! I need to fall in line and get the work done. I need to push past the scenes that are tripping me up and get words on the page. I need to reread my notes and edit the heck out of two of my novels. I need to get to a finished project I feel proud of.

Are you a list, timeline, and numbers person? Do you usually stick to your plans or are you always falling behind (like me)?

2 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans

  1. Katherine Jay September 25, 2015 / 1:18 pm

    I keep writing timelines…and the timelines get destroyed by real life!

    I do have an ordered list of goals for the rest of this year, which doesn’t currently have space for NaNo but there’s a fairly developed novel idea lurking around that I could pull out, if I felt like destroying my ordered list again 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

