Reading Again

The other thing I enjoy that I have been struggling with is reading. In the last two years I have read far fewer books than in previous years. I used to read more than the average person, but in comparison to most of my friends I’m a light weight. In an average year I hit 60 books. Over the last two years I have probably only read 20-30 books per year. Another sign I wasn’t feeling it is that I stopped tracking what I’d read. Something I am regretting now.

A few weeks ago I read “The Raven Boys” by Maggie Stiefvater. I read her book “The Scorpio Races” several years ago and loved it. I grabbed the “The Raven Boys” because I happen to walk by it on a shelf at the library. I read through the first three in the series in a little over a week (one advantage of finding a series a little late!). I think the second might have actually been my favourite. It felt good to be reading again.

Once I’d finished them I floundered again. It has been so long that I’ve forgotten how to find books. What sites did I visit to find books I might enjoy? Who did I ask for recommendations from? Luckily my husband reads at least three times as much as I do and knows what I like. He found me “The Rithmatist” by Brandon Sanderson when we returned the last of the Stiefvater books. I enjoyed it as well.

After I finished “The Rithmatist” I walked into our study to see if I had anything waiting to be read in there. I don’t usually buy a book until I have read it through the first time and decided I simply can’t live without it. (I have a few exceptions to that rule including anything by Kelley Armstrong). As luck would have it though a copy of “Leviathan” by Scott Westerfeld was waiting for me.

I am only about a third of the way through, and while it isn’t my usual style, I am really enjoying it. It feels good to be reading again. Maybe all the reading will help get me writing more. At the very least it is cutting in my TV time for which I am grateful. Somehow I just have to keep up the momentum and find my next book to read before I have finished this one.

2 thoughts on “Reading Again

  1. Cate September 15, 2015 / 11:05 am

    Have you read Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor? It’s a YA urban fantasy with some of the best world building I’ve ever seen.

    Like

    • NJ Fraser September 15, 2015 / 6:33 pm

      Oh, no. I remember you talking about it. Will put it on my list now. Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

