Camp NaNoWriMo

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant badge

I have participated in, and won, NaNoWriMo every year since 2007, but have never been in a good place to try Camp NaNoWriMo. This year a friend decided to do Camp NaNo this April. Jump forward a few hours and we have six seven people from my local writing club (I say club because we are more a group who writes together than a group who critiques) signed up to participate. I think this whole Camp NaNo idea might be just what the doctor ordered to force me to write.

One of the things I like about Camp NaNo is how open it is. Instead of writing 50k, I am aiming for 30k. Instead of trying to write everyday, I will write 3-4 days per week. Instead of working on a new novel, I am going to finish a current project. My Murder Mystery will finally have a beginning, middle, and end! I now have just under 20 days to get everything in order for a somewhat crazy writing filled April.

The biggest thing I need to do is research. I’m currently reading an RCMP officer’s autobiography. It’s interesting but the person who wrote it is older and started in the force so long ago I fear much of it won’t be useful. I have another autobiography coming into the library which is from a more recent female RCMP member. I’m also reading Police Procedure & Investigation: A Guide for Writers by Lee Lofland. It has been very helpful for general knowledge.

Now I just need to figure out how I am going to find time for some character development in all my reading.

Are you doing Camp NaNo this year? If so what are you doing to get ready for next month?

Leave a Reply

