Sharing my Love of Books

Last night I read one of my favourite early readers to my son. “World Famous Muriel” by Sue Alexander. It is a simple detective story about a tightrope walking girl (Muriel) who solves the mystery of some missing paper lanterns while eating peanut butter cookies. I’m not sure if I love it because of the cookies (also my favourite), because of the mystery aspect, or the silliness of the mystery.

Here is a short list of other books I can’t wait to share with him as he gets older.

1. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
This book was read to me when I was about eight. My reading level at the time wasn’t anywhere near where I could read it myself. I did go back and read it myself in University. I enjoyed it just as much the second time around, but admitted defeat on the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

2. The Mister Monday Series by Garth Nix
I loved Garth Nix’s book Sabriel and have read many of his other books. This series would make a great introduction to one of my favourite authors. It is also a series he can read at an earlier age than most of the books on my must read list.

3. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
I discovered the Harry Potter books after a friend of mine took a children’s reading course in university. Since that time Harry Potter has become a house hold name with good reason. I can’t imagine a kid who wouldn’t love them.

4. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
A great Greek mythology adventure series with a modern twist. I love the characters development in this series. Even as an adult I remember anxiously awaiting each new book.

5. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
This was one of the first book series I discovered on my own. Usually I read books because I got them as a gift or because a friend recommended it. This one I found on my own after searching through book reviews.

6.  Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul
I know these books can be a bit cheesie, but the first of the teenage ones was a lifeline for me at times.

Even better than sharing some of my favourite books with him will be the first time he reads a book and recommends it to me.

What were your favourite books growing up?

Leave a Reply

